Skip to content
South Lanarkshire Counts — South Lanarkshire, in numbers.Local help →

South Lanarkshire, in numbers

People and living standards

South Lanarkshire council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

South Lanarkshire council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 302,530 in 1991 to 334,330 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

South Lanarkshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 304,760 people in 1996; 334,330 people in 2025. 9.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — South Lanarkshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991302,530
1992303,220
1993303,950
1994305,220
1995304,930
1996304,760
1997304,440
1998303,330
1999302,580
2000302,270
2001302,340
2002302,770
2003303,480
2004305,660
2005306,850
2006308,450
2007310,370
2008311,310
2009312,180
2010313,180
2011313,900
2012314,770
2013315,810
2014316,770
2015318,110
2016319,050
2017320,480
2018321,320
2019323,120
2020323,620
2021325,390
2022327,460
2023330,930
2024333,070
2025334,330
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

South Lanarkshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 62,956 people in 1996; 55,978 people in 2025. 11.1% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — South Lanarkshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199163,257
199263,330
199363,633
199463,926
199563,578
199662,956
199762,359
199861,719
199961,255
200060,650
200159,552
200258,783
200358,126
200457,783
200557,573
200657,476
200757,281
200856,821
200956,499
201055,940
201155,445
201255,355
201354,993
201454,822
201555,035
201654,856
201755,101
201855,090
201955,416
202055,284
202155,276
202255,275
202355,872
202455,990
202555,978
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

South Lanarkshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 198,269 people in 1996; 206,966 people in 2025. 4.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — South Lanarkshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991198,827
1992198,836
1993198,630
1994198,943
1995198,337
1996198,269
1997198,153
1998197,233
1999196,570
2000196,461
2001196,745
2002197,422
2003198,206
2004199,946
2005200,794
2006201,889
2007203,282
2008203,893
2009204,129
2010204,931
2011205,199
2012204,368
2013204,322
2014204,132
2015204,418
2016204,496
2017204,688
2018204,440
2019204,445
2020204,102
2021204,763
2022205,513
2023206,978
2024207,293
2025206,966
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

South Lanarkshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 43,535 people in 1996; 71,386 people in 2025. 64% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — South Lanarkshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199140,446
199241,054
199341,687
199442,351
199543,015
199643,535
199743,928
199844,378
199944,755
200045,159
200146,043
200246,565
200347,148
200447,931
200548,483
200649,085
200749,807
200850,596
200951,552
201052,309
201153,256
201255,047
201356,495
201457,816
201558,657
201659,698
201760,691
201861,790
201963,259
202064,234
202165,351
202266,672
202368,080
202469,787
202571,386
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2022 census · 327,131 residents
How this census compares with other years

Scotland’s census was held in 2022. These are native Scottish broad categories, with African separate from Caribbean or Black. The national term minority ethnic also includes some White groups, so it must not be read as non-White. Privacy-adjusted cells can differ from published totals. Categories containing an undefined source dash are unavailable pending a verified aggregate release or symbol definition.

Ethnic group · South Lanarkshire · 2022
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White: Total313,12995.7%
Mixed or multiple ethnic groupNot availableNot available
Asian, Asian Scottish or Asian British: TotalNot availableNot available
African: TotalNot availableNot available
Caribbean or Black: TotalNot availableNot available
Other ethnic groups: TotalNot availableNot available

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 313,830 residents
How this census compares with other years

The 2011 UK table retains its own category structure, including a separate Traveller category. It is not automatically comparable with later national census categories or modern district boundaries.

Ethnic group · South Lanarkshire · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White306,42297.6%
Gypsy / Traveller / Irish Traveller2030.1%
Mixed / Multiple ethnic group7790.2%
Asian / Asian British: Indian1,3440.4%
Asian / Asian British: Pakistani2,1170.7%
Asian / Asian British: Bangladeshi930%
Asian / Asian British: Chinese1,0120.3%
Asian / Asian British: Other Asian5900.2%
Black / African / Caribbean / Black British8710.3%
Other Ethnic Group3990.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 8.8% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

South Lanarkshire council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £9,559 per person in 1997; £23,682 per person in 2024. 147.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — South Lanarkshire council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19979,559
19989,807
199910,154
200010,749
200111,005
200211,692
200311,809
200412,410
200513,038
200613,343
200714,094
200814,574
200914,703
201015,011
201115,298
201215,643
201315,977
201416,143
201516,811
201616,942
201717,512
201817,911
201918,835
202018,978
202119,623
202220,547
202322,106
202423,682
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

South Lanarkshire council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -9.9% in 1997; -8.8% in 2024. 1.1 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — South Lanarkshire council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-9.9
1998-9.4
1999-10.2
2000-9.7
2001-11
2002-7.6
2003-9.4
2004-8.6
2005-7.3
2006-8.9
2007-8.2
2008-7.5
2009-8.2
2010-7.1
2011-6.1
2012-7.4
2013-8.8
2014-10.7
2015-11.6
2016-12
2017-11.1
2018-12.2
2019-10.6
2020-9.6
2021-10.2
2022-10.5
2023-9.6
2024-8.8
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults with no qualifications

Not available

20 March 2022 · South Lanarkshire council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

UK Facts calculation: output-area counts summed using the official NRS 2022 geography index only when every required cell is numeric. The source dash has no verified definition in the archive or its disclosure notes, so affected sums are withheld; it is not treated as zero. Dash-cell counts are retained in diagnostics. Cells are privacy-adjusted and may not add to independently published totals. Each percentage uses its own table denominator. Scottish degree-or-higher excludes HNC/HND and is kept distinct from the wider Level 4+ measure used elsewhere.

A required output-area cell contains an undefined dash; the affected aggregate is withheld, not treated as zero.

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

Not available

20 March 2022 · South Lanarkshire council area

Show the workings

All usual residents

UK Facts calculation: output-area counts summed using the official NRS 2022 geography index only when every required cell is numeric. The source dash has no verified definition in the archive or its disclosure notes, so affected sums are withheld; it is not treated as zero. Dash-cell counts are retained in diagnostics. Cells are privacy-adjusted and may not add to independently published totals. Each percentage uses its own table denominator.

A required output-area cell contains an undefined dash; the affected aggregate is withheld, not treated as zero.

Source →

Average home price

£185,000

July 2026 · South Lanarkshire council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

Some Scottish ethnicity categories are withheld because their source output areas contain undefined dash markers: Mixed or multiple ethnic group; Asian, Asian Scottish or Asian British: Total; African: Total; Caribbean or Black: Total; Other ethnic groups: Total. The markers have not been interpreted as zero.

A verified 2001 Scottish ethnicity snapshot on this exact area code is not included in this release.

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.